The 19th edition of the Basketball World Cup is set to take place from August 25th to September 10th, 2023 in Japan, the Philippines, and Indonesia. Five African countries will compete in the tournament, including Côte d’Ivoire and Egypt.

In total, 32 national teams will participate in the event, which kicks off next Friday. To secure their spots, these teams navigated through six qualifying phases spread over a span of 15 months. In November 2021, the preliminary rounds featured a total of 80 nations from four distinct geographic zones: Africa, Americas, Asia-Oceania, and Europe.

Among the 32 teams that successfully made it to the final phase of the competition after the qualifiers, there are 5 African nations: Angola, Côte d’Ivoire, Egypt, South Sudan, and Cape Verde. From other continents, the usual powerhouses are present, including the United States, France, Spain, Mexico, and China.

Indonesia, co-host of the 2023 Basketball World Cup, did not qualify as it did not reach the quarter-finals of the 2021 FIBA Asia Cup. The qualified nations for the 2023 Basketball World Cup are divided into eight groups of four.