On Friday at the Mohamed VI Complex in Rabat, Morocco, the Confederation of African Football (CAF) drew lots for the 14th edition of the Women’s African Cup of Nations.

At the end of the draw, the 12 teams qualified for WAFCON 2022 now know their opponents. Title record holders (11 times) and defending champion, Nigeria inherit Group C.

The Cosafa zone will be represented by the Banyana Banyana of South Africa, the Mares of Botswana and the Copper Queens of Zambia. Four times finalists in thirteen editions, the South Africans hope to win gold during this Moroccan edition.

Meanwhile the Zambians will be in their fourth participation in the final phase of WAFCON, it will be a first however for the Batswana or the Togolese.

Breakdown of the groups:

Group A : Morocco (hosts), Burkina Faso, Senegal and Uganda.

Group B : Cameroon, Zambia, Tunisia and Togo.

Group C : Nigeria, South Africa, Burundi and Botswana.

As a reminder, the competition is scheduled in Morocco from July 2 to 23, 2022.

Source: AfrikPage