Senegal’s national team has unveiled the list of selected players for their upcoming trip to Rwanda in September. This match is part of the 6th round of qualifiers for the AFCON 2023. Several key players from Senegal’s squad are not in the group.

On September 9th, Senegal will face Rwanda in Kigali as part of the 6th round of qualifiers for the AFCON 2023. This match holds no significance for the Lions of Teranga, as they are already qualified and assured of finishing first in their group. The list of called-up players for this match has been released. The group has been heavily reshuffled with the absence of several key players.

As stated by the Senegalese Football Federation (FSF), this list is composed of players under 20 years old who won the AFCON in their category and those who triumphed in the African Nations Championship (CHAN). The selected team consists of four goalkeepers, ten defenders, seven midfielders, and ten forwards.

The team will be led by the coaches of the under-20 national team, Malick Daff, and the coach of the local Lions, Pape Bouna Thiaw. The training camp will take place in Thies starting from August 31st, 2023, according to the FSF.

According to the FSF, the national coach Aliou Cissé will unveil a new list on Friday for the friendly match against Algeria, scheduled for September 12th at the Me Abdoulaye Wade Stadium in Diamniadio.

Local authorities clearly prioritize this match, as they have decided to rest the core players of the team for the trip to Rwanda. Consequently, Sadio Mane and his group will remain in Dakar to prepare for this duel against the Fennecs.

Senegal’s Squad against Rwanda :

Goalkeepers: Papa Mamadou Sy (Rfc Seraing), Abdoulaye Diakhate (Asc Jaraaf), Marco Diouf (Teungueth Fc), Prince Aly Gueye (Stade De Mbour).

Defenders: Ousmane Diouf (Al Hilal Club), Junior Marc A. Mendy (Guediawaye Fc), Cheikh Oumar Ndiaye (Rfc Seraing), Seydou Sano (Al-Gharafa Sc), Mamadou Sane (Aris Limassol), Mouhamed Welle (Asc Jaraaf), Souleymane Basse (Valenciennes Fc), Mohamed Camara (Casa Sport), Cheikh Tidiane Sidibe (Azam Fc), Woula Massire Sane (Stade De Mbour).

Midfielders: M. Lamine Camara (Rs Berkane), Moussa Ndiaye (Asc Jaraaf), Samba Lele Diba (Servette Fc), Daouda Diongue (Af Darou Salam), Alpha Amadou Toure (Génération Foot), Ousmane Kane (As Douanes), Papa Demba Diop (Sv Zulte Waregem).

Forwards: Cheikh Tidiane Sabaly (Fc Metz), Amara Diouf (Génération Foot), Papa Amadou Diallo (Fc Metz), Samba Diallo (Dynamo Kiev), Pape Berth Mboup (Asc Jaraaf), Ibrahima Seck (Us Gorée), Bouly Junior Sambou (Wydad Ac), Idrissa Gueye (Génération Foot), Souleymane Faye (Real Betis), Cheikh Ibra Diouf (Guédiawaye Fc).