On the Thursday, UK has announced its intensions to ban travels from six southern African countries, after South Africa detected a new Covid-19 variant.

Indeed, South African scientists have detected a new variant of the coronavirus.

Qualified as worrying, this variant has a high number of mutations and is spreading rapidly, particularly in the province of Gauteng.

Cases have also been found in Botswana and Hong Kong in travelers from South Africa.

The coronavirus changes as it spreads. Some of the new variants are disappearing and others are evolving in worrying ways.

South African Minister of Health Joe Phaahla on Thursday announced that the number of new cases of Covid-19 had increased dramatically.

This announcement provoked radical reactions.

As in the United Kingdom where Minister of Health Sajid Javid announced the ban on British travel to six countries in southern Africa including South Africa, Namibia and Botswana, Lesotho, Eswatini and Zimbabwe.

All flights from these countries will be suspended from 1200 GMT on Friday, November 26, 2021.

Source: AfrikPage