The draw for the African qualifiers for the Women’s Football Tournament counting for the Paris 2024 Olympic Games was made on Tuesday, May 30, 2023 in Cairo, Egypt. The participants have now known their opponents in the first round.

For these African qualifiers, 25 countries have confirmed their participation. These are Benin, Botswana, Burkina Faso, Cameroon, Chad, Congo, DR Congo, Ivory Coast, Equatorial Guinea, Ethiopia, Ghana, Guinea, Guinea Bissau , Mali, Morocco, Mozambique, Namibia, Nigeria, Rwanda, Sierra Leone, South Africa, Tanzania, Tunisia, Uganda and Zambia.

The qualifiers will be played in a home/away format with a total of four qualifying rounds, after which only two nations will represent the African continent at the Paris 2024 Olympic Games.

The first round consists of 18 teams, while the seven (7) highest ranked teams from the last Women’s Africa Cup of Nations will be exempted. This concerns South Africa, Morocco, Zambia, Nigeria, Cameroon, Tunisia and Botswana.

According to the program revealed by CAF, the first round matches will take place from July 10 to 18, 2023. The second stage will take place from October 23 to 31, 2023, while the third round is scheduled for February 19 to 28, 2024. The fourth and final round will be played from April 1 to 9, 2024.

First round schedule

Guinea Bissau vs Benin

Guinea vs Ghana

Burkina Faso vs Mali

Ivory Coast vs Sierra Leone

Namibia vs Equatorial Guinea

Uganda vs Rwanda

Ethiopia vs Chad

Congo vs Tanzania

Mozambique vs DR Congo

As a reminder, the football tournament at the Paris 2024 Olympics will take place from July 24 to August 10, 2024.