The Nigerian Football Federation has unveiled a 24-player roster for the first round of the Super Falcons’ qualifiers for the 2024 Women’s Africa Cup of Nations.

The 2024 AFCON will mark the 15th edition of the biennial African women’s football tournament organized by the Confederation of African Football and is set to take place in Morocco. Notable returns to the team include Asisat Oshoala, Rasheedat Ajibade, and Chiamaka Nnadozie, who will represent Nigeria in the upcoming clashes against Sao Tome and Principe.

Other players listed in the squad include Michelle Alozie, Christy Ucheibe, Toni Payne, Ifeaoma Onumonu, and Gift Monday. Several players from local clubs have also been called up, including Onome Ebi, Esther Onyenezide, Flourish Sebastien, and Opeyemi Ajakaye. However, notable omissions from the lineup are key players like Ashleigh Plumptre, Uchenna Kanu, and Francesca Ordega.

Nigeria will host Sao Tome at Mobolaji Johnson Stadium on September 22 for the first leg of the encounter before traveling to their opponent for the return leg four days later. This double-header marks the return to action for the Super Falcons since their participation in the 2023 FIFA Women’s World Cup, where they were eliminated in the Round of 16 by England.

Full Nigeria Squad:

Goalkeepers: Chiamaka Nnadozie (Paris FC); Tochukwu Oluehi (Shualat Alsharqia FC, Saudi Arabia); Monlé Oyono (Bayelsa Queens)

Defenders: Onome Ebi (Naija Ratels); Akudo Ogbonna (Remo Stars Ladies); Confort Folorunsho (Edo Queens); Oluwatosin Demehin (Stade de Reims, France); Michelle Alozie (Houston Dash, USA); Nicole Payne (Paris Saint-Germain, France); Jumoke Alani (Edo Queens); Rofiat Imuran (Stade de Reims, France)

Midfielders: Peace Efih (Sporting Club de Braga, Portugal); Esther Onyenezide (FC Robo Queens); Christy Ucheibe (SL Benfica, Portugal); Rasheedat Ajibade (Atletico Madrid FC, Spain); Toni Payne (FC Sevilla, Spain); Régina Otu (AS Saint-Etienne, France)

Forwards: Flourish Sebastine (Bayelsa Queens); Ifeoma Onumonu (NY/NJ Gotham FC, USA); Asisat Oshoala (FC Barcelona Femeni, Spain); Vivian Ikechukwu (Besiktas JK, Turkey); Gift Monday (UDG Tenerife, Spain); Chiamaka Okuchukwu (Rivers Angels); Opeyemi Ajakaye (FC Robo Queens).