As part of the ongoing dialogue with ECOWAS, the African Union and the international community concerning the conduct of transition in Mali, the government of this country announced the creation of a dialogue group of which Ghana and Nigeria are members.

This mechanism aims to seek a solution reconciling the aspirations of the Malian people and the demands of the international community, in particular through the adoption of a consensual timetable, indicates a press release from the Malian Ministry of Territorial Administration.

A dialogue group at ministerial level is created. It includes the following countries and organizations: Ghana, Mauritania, Nigeria, Senegal, Sierra Leone, Togo, United Nations, African Union and ECOWAS.

“Through this initiative, the Malian authorities renew their commitment to the return to a normal constitutional order”, indicates the same press release.

Early this year, the transitional leaders announced a transition of 5 years. A decision that resulted in sanctions from ECOWAS and the European Union and condemnation from the African Union.

Source: AfrikPage