The African body of the International Sports Press Association (AIPS) has established a new executive committee on Saturday February 25, 2023, the last day of the three-day AIPS Africa congress in Dakar.

Senegalese Abdoualye Thiam has become the new president of AIPS Africa. Thiam, who leads Senegal’s National Sports Press Association, succeeds Nigerian Mitchell Obi who opted out of running after ten years.

“As we have agreed on the leadership positions, we want to show the path we will follow as a new team showcasing Africa as a united continent with a will to get things done…I am happy that our African colleagues have understood this and thank them for the trust”, said the new boss of the continental body.

Moroccan Morad Moutaouakkil, who resigned his candidacy for president, retained his first vice-presidential seat unopposed after the withdrawal of Sudanese mufti Mohammed and Nazim Bessol from Algeria.

Within the committee, four new members were elected with Jérôme Tiendrebeogo from Burkina Faso in the lead (17 votes), Kodjo Avuletey from Togo received 14 votes, Fridolin Wambombo from the Central African Republic obtained 12 votes and Ms. Kadiatou Traoré from Guinea obtained 11 votes, indicated the association on Saturday.

Founded in 1924 during the Paris Olympic Games, AIPS was built on the conviction of strengthening cooperation between its member associations in the defense of sporting and professional interests and of strengthening friendship and solidarity between sports journalists in all countries.

Full list of the new executive office:

Abdoulaye Thiam – Senegal
1st Vice President:
Morad Moutaouakkil – Marocco

Chris Mbaisi – Kenya
Ms Bertille Missi Bikoun – Cameroom
Oumar Baba Traoré – Mali
Nazim Bessol – Algeria

General Secretary
Musa Sisse

Liliane Nshimirinana

Jerôme Tiendrebeogo – Burkina Faso
Kodjo Avuletey – Togo
Fridolin Wambobo Kpengoulagna – Central African Republic
Kadiatou Traoré – Guinea

AfrikPage with AIPS